OH HAPPY DAYS

12493936_10156683756645643_5879013074768362923_o

To me nothing screams memories like cornbread and milk-together, in a bowl, eaten with a spoon. Growing up our yard connected to my grandparents yard and it was always everyone’s secret hope that an invitation to come over to grandmother’s kitchen for some cornbread and milk would be forthcoming. And, if you happened to eat it with papa, a thick slice of fresh tomato with salt and pepper and an onion were readily available too.

I always thought cornbread and milk was a southern delicacy, but after scouring the web I couldn’t really find much on that matter. When I eat it in front of our youth kids on Wednesday nights, they look at me like I have grown two heads and a few extra ears. So I am assuming it isn’t as common as I once thought. Maybe it is just a Harris thing. No matter, I am raising my children to appreciate the yumminess that is cornbread and milk.

I use the recipe my mom always used when I was growing up. I have an idea she got it from her mom when she was growing up. I have simply swapped out the wheat flour with a gluten free flour blend.
What you will need

2 cups non gmo cornmeal (After watching “The Truth about Cancer” I can’t stress non gmo enough.) If you have a wheat grinder or a vitamix you can certainly make your own cornmeal by grinding some popcorn.
1 cup of gluten free flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon Real Salt or Pink Himalayan salt
1 egg
1-2 cups of milk. This is where I eyeball it. You don’t want the batter to be runny but you want it to have almost a cake batter consistency.
If you like your cornbread sweet you can add 1-2 tablespoons of honey to the mixture.

First pre-heat the oven to 450 degrees with your cast iron skillet in the oven to also get hot. This will give your cornbread that awesome crunchy crust. Next throw all of the ingredients into a bowl, in the order they are listed, and mix well making sure you get all of the clumps out. Once your oven is preheated and your pan is nice and hot, grease it very carefully with some olive oil and pour the cornbread batter in. Bake for about 20 minutes or until the top is a nice golden brown color.

We like to eat it while it is still hot. The hot cornbread and the cold milk create such a nice contrast in your mouth. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it. Of course, if you don’t like cornbread and milk, you can always slather some butter on a piece of bread and pour honey or black strap molasses over it. Anyway you slice it you can’t go wrong. Warmth, great memories, and yummy food.

Leave a comment